Tags

, , , , ,

ReadingI was on a site the other day and stumbled upon a list of 12 books to read in 2015. I thought it was going to be about new books or some classics everyone should read. But it wasn’t.  It was a different kind of list – a list of books that we all have in us: the book we’ve meant to read, something out of our typical genre preference, something new, and so on.  So I had to save the list and create my own because, well… I love books and I love being challenged to read books!   So here’s my list below.  What would your list be?

A book you’ve been meaning to read: The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley. I have many books that could go here, but I’ll choose this one for now.

A book published this yearGo Set A Watchman by Harper Lee. I mean, it’s the continuation of To Kill A Mockingbird which I actually enjoyed in high school.  So why not read the second one?

A book in a genre you don’t typically readA Beautiful Anarchy by Jeffrey Tucker. There are actually 3 books, including this one, on the topic of anarchy I hope to read soon. It’s not that I don’t read books about politics and philosophy, it’s just not my go-to choice usually.

A book from your childhoodThe Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry. I’ve never read this book and yet seem to told by most I know that I should read it. So I’m going to read it. I also will be working on this book in Serbo-Croatian as it is one of the few books I have to help me learn the language.

A book your mom loves: My mom loves to read as much as I do, but I think I’ll choose her suggestions of The Eleventh Insight by James Redfield.  I’ve read The Celestine Prophecy. So I want to continue on with the rest of them.

A book that was originally written in a different languageTesla: A Portrait With Masks by Vladimir Pištalo.  Originally written in Serbian and recently published in English.  Must read this!
I will also read The Russian Primary by Nestor the Chronicler. Originally written in Russian… A must read for me to fill my love of all things Slavic.

A book ‘everyone’ has read but youWhere The Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak. Never read it. And that should be fixed.

A book you chose because of the coverA Princess of Romania by Paul Park. I bought this book a LONG time ago, based on the cover, and I should finally read it.

A book by a favorite author: A new favorite author of mine, Dmitriy Kushnir.  He puts out short books on Slavic Native Faith and now even fiction. A book comes out and I buy it.  So I know there will be a few more during the year. 🙂

A book recommended by someone with great taste: The Maze Runner by James Dashner. My brother-in-law is a book freak. I love him for it, too.  But he’s told me I should read this book, and well, the whole series. So I’ll aim for at least book one.

A book you should have read in high school: The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas.  This choice was actually the original poster’s choice, but I said, “Why not!?” I didn’t read it in high school either and everyone says it’s good.  Though Russian literature was not part of the curriculum here in the USA, I’d love to read some of it, too.

A book that’s currently on the best seller list: Best sellers and newly published aren’t my forte, but maybe I could say Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. I hear it is good and it’s on the NY Times Best Seller list at #13.

So there you have it – my reading challenge to myself.

What say you?